Senin, 07 Januari 2013

Wambach named 2012 Fifa Women's World Player of the Year

Marta, Alex Morgan, Abby Wambach
Abby Wambach has won the Fifa Women's World Player of the Year for 2012.

The 32-year old was voted the winner of the award by both the captains and the coaches of the 209 Fifa Members, as well as selected members of the media.

The striker beat Brazil's Marta into second place despite the Tyreso player leading her club to a league title, while American counterpart Alex Morgan finished third.

Wambach has already collected the US Soccer Athlete of the Year award on five occasions, as well as winning the Bronze Boot award at the 2011 World Cup along with the Silver Ball, and been given the ESPN ESPY trophy for her goal in the same competition.

Second-placed Marta, 26, is one of the most prolific players in the women's game, and scored 12 goals in 21 games for her club. She also featured for Brazil during the 2012 Olympics, although they were unable to progress further than the quarter-finals.

Morgan, Wambach's strike par tner, created five assists during the London Olympics which won her the American Sportswoman of the Year award.

Tidak ada komentar:

Posting Komentar